Luc Ackermann claims his first ever victory at NIGHT of the JUMPs, Hamburg

With a thunderous crowd behind him, Team LifeProof star Luc Ackermann ran rampant on the NIGHT of the JUMPs course in Hamburg to take his first ever win at NIGHT of the JUMPs. The local German Wunderkind put together some of the biggest tricks in the sport to knock Libor Podmol off the Hot-Seat which he had held for almost the entire top 6 final in front of a 7,000 strong crowd.

The 6th round of the NIGHT of the JUMPs World Tour Championship started with a strong rider field including the three time reigning World Champion, Maikel Melero (ESP) and three time former World Champion, Remi Bizouard, who would be seeking redemption from his disappointing result in Munich. Also the 2010 former World Champion Libor Podmol, would look to continue his points haul for the 2017 World Tour Championship while David Rinaldo is returning after missing the stop in Munich.

The crowd in Hamburg were treated to an incredible display of Freestyle Motocross when the first three riders to compete all brought a California Roll body varial. Kai Haase landed his first California Roll after his crash 2 years ago, while Filip Podmol was lucky to hold onto his attempt and make it through to the top 6 final. Unfortunately Leo Fini wasn’t as lucky with his California Roll to finish in 9th place.  More impressively, 8 out of the 11 starting riders performed a body varial which proves how high the level of Freestyle Motocross has been pushed at NIGHT of the JUMPs.

It was a disappointing result for Pat Bowden who delivered a spectacular run including a huge Ruler Flip and Rock Solid Backflip but not enough to make it into the top 6 final, despite Libor Podmol making a mistake of missing a Cordova Flip in his run and only managing to fix his mistake in time.  The judges decided the Double Grab Flip and Rock Solid Flip combined with the two Tsunami Flip combinations were repetition of tricks and points were deducted. Remi Bizouard, Maikel Melero, David Rinaldo and Luc Ackermann would make it through the qualification to the Top 6 Final.

The LifeProof Best Whip competition would be turned up a notch when Pat Bowden used his obvious disappointment from missing out of the Top 6 final to throw some of his signature Turndown Whips to beat the German rider, Kai Haase. For good measure, Bowden threw in a huge Ruler Flip for the Hamburg crowd before his night was over.

The Podmol Brothers opened the Top 6 final with the younger brother Filip riding first. Opening his account with a flat Nac-Nac 360 spin, Filip was riding solid until he landed heavily on his Surfer take-off to Tsunami Flip to re-injure his ankle. The injury was enough to end Filip’s night and he was not able to complete his run. However, the older brother, Libor came out and performed the exact same trick that injured Filip, landing his Surfer take-off Tsunami Flip and continuing to put together an impressive run with his Cliffhanger Flip, Super Can Flip and finished with the Volt body varial.

While Libor was watching from the top of the Hot-Seat, Remi Bizouard put together an impressive run, beginning with his new trick, landing the Flair 540 travelling from right to left. Bizouard pulled out all the stops when he stomped a clean Cliffhanger Flip followed by a huge Tsunami Flip and also utilising the second Quarter Pipe to land the Egg Roll. But it wouldn’t be enough to make it to the podium even with his Volt body varial on the Double Up.

Maikel Melero suffered the same fate as Bizouard, while bringing a body varial and utilising two quarter pipes, he was unable to pick up the points to surpass Podmol. David Rinaldo had a stand-out run with one of the smoothest runs including a huge one-hand to Double Grab Backflip, California Roll and Egg Roll. Rinaldo’s smooth style was enough to make it to 3rd on the podium and signal a return of the former World Champion.

After qualifying in first place, the roar from the Hamburg crowd appeared to make the difference for the final rider, Luc Ackermann. The pressure was on the 19 year old from Thuringia however he kept a calm approach while performing the biggest tricks in Freestyle Motocross. After landing his huge signature Surfer take-off Tsunami Flip over the long distance, the rapturous crowd could not get enough when he landed the 540 Flair and finished with the California Roll. After one of the closest finals at NIGHT of the JUMPs, Ackermann would finish on top of the podium for the very first time in history and push Libor Podmol back to second place.


NIGHT of the JUMPs will now enter the Summer Break and return with the first overseas event of the season later in 2017 to continue the longest running Freestyle Motocross sports series in the world.

Check out a full run down of the results below:


Results NIGHT of the JUMPs – Final

  1. Luc Ackermann GER DMSB           Husqvarna     424 Points
  2. Libor Podmol CZE ACCR            Yamaha         405 Points

3. David Rinaldo                           FRA    MA               Yamaha         401

  1. Remi Bizouard FRA FFM              Kawasaki       397 Points
  2. Maikel Melero ESP RFME            Yamaha         392 Points
  3. Filip Podmol CZE ACCR            Yamaha         177 Points


Results Qualification
  1. Luc Ackermann GER DMSB           Husqvarna     360 Points
  2. David Rinaldo FRA MA               Yamaha         352 Points
  3. Maikel Melero ESP RFME            Yamaha         350 Points
  4. Remi Bizouard FRA FFM              Kawasaki       347 Points
  5. Libor Podmol CZE ACCR            Yamaha         336 Points
  6. Filip Podmol CZE ACCR            Yamaha         335 Points
  7. Pat Bowden AUS MA               Yamaha         329 Points
  8. Petr Pilat CZE ACCR            KTM              326 Points

9 Leonardo Fini                       ITA     OSK              KTM              319 Points

  1. Brice Izzo FRA FFM              Yamaha         282 Points
    1. Kai Haase GER DMSB           Suzuki           280 Points

    Results LifeProof Best Whip Contest

    1. Pat Bowden AUS MA               Yamaha
    2. Kai Haase GER DMSB           Suzuki


    Maxxis Highest-Air

    1. Masssimo Bianconcini ITA PZM              KTM              9,50 Meter
    2. Kai Haase GER DMSB           Suzuki           9,00 Meter



Alan Lund

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.