Team Spain takes the Podium | NIGHT of the JUMPs JEREZ

Last weekend Jerez, Spain was set to host the 7th Round of the FIM Freestyle MX World Championships for the second year in a row, but mother nature had other plans.

Adverse weather conditions meant that the athletes were unable to adapt to the track so the challenge rapidly evolved to a ‘Team Championship’.  To bring this championship to life, three teams of elite FMX riders took on the course in an adrenaline fueled battle:

  • Team Spain with Dany Torres, Maikel Melero and Marc Pinyol
  • Team France with David Rinaldo, Brice Izzo and Remi Bizouard
  • Team World with Rob Adelberg (AUS), Libor Podmol (CZE) and Petr Pilat (CZE)

In the final round, the awesome riders from Team Spain and Team World faced off for the big prize. Adelberg, Podmol and Pilat all threw down some excellent runs. In a heart-stopping finale, it was Dany Torres with the Double Grab Flip, Lazy Flip and Oxecutioner Flip combined with Melero’s Stripper Flip and California Roll that ensured the top prize for Team Spain. The audience were left on the edge of their seats, and it was truly an electric atmosphere. Having witnessed the top-class action, the judges gave their deciding points to the Spanish contenders and thus, Spain now hold the title of the first NIGHT of the JUMPs Team Championship.

Our Freestyle MX world legends now fly directly to Germany from Spain for the next stop of the World Championship series in Cologne on Saturday October 8th, 2016. The LANXESS Arena will form the seventh round of the NIGHT of the JUMPs FIM Freestyle MX World Championships.


Results NIGHT of the JUMPs – Final

  1. Team Spain 252 Points

Maikel Melero, Dany Torres, Marc Pinyol

  1. Team World 243 Points

Rob Adelberg (AUS), Libor Podmol (CZE), Petr Pilat (CZE)


Results LifeProof Best Whip Contest

  1. Maikel Melero ESP
  2. David Rinaldo FRA


For more information, pictures and videos, visit


You may also like:



Claire McGuinness

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.