NIGHT of the JUMPs | Mannheim 2016

LifeProof sponsored NIGHT of the JUMPs, Mannheim 2016 saw a spectacular end to the FIM European FMX Championships last Saturday night.  11 of the best Freestlye Motocross athletes took to the SAP Arena and unleashed a gravity defying FMX show for over 7,000 spectators.

The night hosted two major duels of athleticism and sheer determination. The most important battle was for the Gold medal and European Championship crown between Remi Bizourard and Maikel Melero. The second involving Team LifeProof athlete Luc Ackermann and Petr Pilat to battle for the Bronze medal.

The battles began with Ackermann taking the competition by storm by laying down a show stopping run with tricks like the Egg Roll, Surfer Tsunami Flip, Seat Grab Flip and California Roll in the Double Up. Playing it safe Petr decided not to bring his 540 in the final run meaning he wasn’t able to counter Luc’s great run. Even Remi Bizourard couldn’t catch the 18 year old German after he left out his Volt body varial and ended up placing 3rd behind Luc by a mere 1 point.

Maikel Melero came back with a bang and put together a solid run that provided the reigning World Champion a win at Mannheim which allowed him to collect the European Championship title. Ackermann who claimed 2nd in Mannheim secured a strong 3rd place in the European Championship right behind Remi. Luc is on fire this season…

Luc LR 3

Luc Ackermann Re Caps on his incredible night:

“NIGHT of the JUMPs Mannheim was so amazing. The crowd really pushed me a lot. I was a bit under pressure being behind Petr Pilat coming into the final of the European Championship. But when I rode in the arena, I was super focused and had so much fun riding in front of the German crowd.  All of my tricks worked so well.” – Luc Ackermann

Luc LR 2

The LifeProof Best Whip competition gave viewers no chance to leave early.  It was a battle of turn down whips between Bizouard and Davide Rossi (ITA), however it would be the Frenchman who went well past 90 degrees to seal the victory. Also, it was in Maxxis Highest Air where another Italian would lose out. Bianconcini had to admit defeat to his permanent rival Jose Miralles from Spain.

With the European Championship completed for 2016, NIGHT of the JUMPs will return to the World Championship series at the next round in June 11th at Jerez, Spain for the 5th round of the FIM Freestyle MX World Championship.

Check out all the results here:

Results NIGHT of the JUMPs – Final

  1. Maikel Melero ESP RFME            Yamaha         394 Points
  2. Luc Ackermann GER DMSB       Husqvarna     372 Points
  3. Remi Bizouard FRA FFM              Kawasaki       371 Points
  4. Petr Pilat CZE ACCR                        KTM              366 Points
  5. Brice Izzo FRA FFM                         Yamaha         340 Points
  6. Leonardo Fini ITA OSK                  Yamaha         315 Points


Results LifeProof Best Whip Contest

  1. Remi Bizouard FRA FFM              Kawasaki
  2. Davide Rossi ITA OSK                    Yamaha


Maxxis Highest-Air

  1. Jose Miralles ESP RFME                            KTM              9,00 Meter
  2. Massimo Bianconcini ITA OSK              KTM              9,00 Meter
  3. Luc Ackermann GER DMSB                    Husqvarna     6,50 Meter


Freestyle MX European Championship

Ranking (after 4th contest)

  1. Maikel Melero ESP RFME            Yamaha         70 Points
  2. Remi Bizouard FRA FFM              Kawasaki       60 Points
  3. Luc Ackermann GER DMSB           Husqvarna     54 Points
  4. Petr Pilat CZE ACCR            KTM              44 Points
  5. Jose Miralles ESP     RFME            KTM              37 Points
  6. Rob Adelberg AUS MA               Yamaha         36 Points
  7. Steve Sommerfeld AUS PZM              KTM              31 Points
  8. Leonardo Fini ITA OSK              Yamaha         22 Points
  9. Pat Bowden AUS MA               Yamaha         22 Points
  10. Libor Podmol CZE ACCR            Yamaha         20 Points
  11. David Rinaldo FRA FFM              Yamaha         18 Points
  12. Brice Izzo FRA FFM              Yamaha         17 Points
  13. Martin Koren CZE ACCR            KTM              15 Points
  14. Thomas Wirnsberger AUT OSK Suzuki           12 Points
  15. Marc Pinyol ESP RFME            Yamaha         12 Points


You May Also Like: Team LifeProof Highlights | April 

Alan Lund

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.